Pro Cycling News / 19 January 2017

A year of important new arrivals as the Sangemini – Mg.K Vis – Olmo – Vega team prepares to begin the season with a great mix of fresh talent and experience. Following the 2015 and 2016 seasons in which Norda – Mg.K Vis consolidated its presence on the Continental circuit with ever-improving results, the team manager, Angelo Baldini, has laid the foundations for a qualitative leap over the next three years to enter the Professional circuit.

With the renewed commitment of Acque Minerali d’Italia and Sangemini as title, Poolpharma and Mg.K Vis as main sponsor of the team, and the new collaboration with Olmo biciclette as technical partner and sponsor, the team is now preparing to start the season with a squad which has numerous newcomers, but can also rely on a group that has been working wheel to wheel for years in national and international competitions at the top levels of the Continental category.

After the initial confirmation of Michele Gazzara, Nicola Gaffurini, Niccolò Salvietti, Paolo Totò and Michele Scartezzini, Olympic medallist in Rio 2016 with the Italian team pursuit squad, the team manager has signed up two of Italy’s top performing cyclists last season: twenty-six-year old Davide Orrico, current Italian Elite champion, an all-round racer with a distinctive talent as a climber, and Simone Bernardini, a fast, 25-year old passista, winner of the 2016 edition of the Parma-La Spezia, racing for Ciclistica Malmantile. The under-23 newcomers will also play a fundamental role. The team from the Marches has reached an agreement with three promising, young newcomers on the Italian cycling scene: they are the eighteen-year olds, Elia Ciabocco and Alessandro Marinozzi from the junior team of the S.C.A.P. Trodica di Morrovalle, and the twenty-year old, Paolo Prandini, already in the under-23s with the team of the Genoa Fire Brigade.


Twelve athletes have now been confirmed among the ranks of the Sangemini-Mg.K Vis-Olmo-Vega team for the 2017 season:
Michele Gazzara (Siracusa-SR, 1990), Michele Scartezzini (Isola della Scala-VR, 1992), Nicola Gaffurini (Desenzano del Garda-BS, 1989), Niccolò Salvietti (Figline Valdarno-FI, 1993), Andrea Tomassini (Fano-PU, 1996), Andrea Genga (Fermo-FM, 1997), Paolo Totò (Fermo-FM, 1991), Simone Bernardini (Sarzana-SP, 1991), Paolo Prandini (Desenzano del Garda-BS, 1996), Alessandro Marinozzi (Sant’Elpidio a Mare-FM, 1998), Davide Orrico (Como-CO, 1990), Elia Ciabocco (Macerata-MC, 1998).

Download the press release here.